Government of Canada
   
Français Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
Home Cybertip.ca SchoolNet deal.org VG Taskforce
   
 

National Child Exploitation Coordinaton Centre (NCECC)

Virtual Global TaskforceVirtual Global Taskforce
International Law Enforcement working together to protect children.

Background
The Virtual Global Taskforce (VGT) was formally launched in December 2003. It is a multi-national law enforcement body that focuses on identifying, locating and rescuing victims. The VGT also aims at targeting and diverting those who attempt to use the Internet to abuse and exploit children.

Although an engaging and valuable resource for most of us, the Internet has become a tool that some use to exploit and abuse children. The Internet is a public place and the VGT’s goal is to have it policed as such; not to allow it to be an anonymous refuge for offenders to continue harming children.

Caught-ya! Operation PIN
The first phase of the VGT’s crime reduction strategy was the development of a website launched under the name Operation PIN. The site purports to contain sexual images of children to draw in potential predators. After going through several levels, the users will eventually find themselves linked to a law enforcement site that would inform them that their coordinates have been noted and that they may have committed an offence. Users will also learn that their coordinates may be provided to the relevant law enforcement agency for possible action. The site also provides information on where they can get help if they feel they are in need of assistance.

Nearly half of 9-19 year olds who use the internet have given out personal information to strangers they've met online.Social Marketing
The National Crime Squad of England and Wales launched an advertising campaign with Easy-Jet’s in-flight magazine in September 2004. The advertisement features the VGT logo and a disturbing statistic that “nearly half of 9-19 year olds who use the Internet have given out personal information to strangers they’ve met online.”

Other partners are also exploring launching similar campaigns in their respective markets.

VGT Website
Please visit www.virtualglobaltaskforce.com for more information on the VGT.

VGT partners:

Gouvernement du Canada Gouvernement du Canada
   
English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
Accueil Cyberaide.ca Rescol choix.org VG Taskforce
   
 

Centre national de coordination contre l'exploitation des enfants (CNCEE)

Virtual Global Taskforce (VGT)Virtual Global Taskforce (VGT)
Des services de police internationaux travaillent ensemble afin de protéger les enfants

Contexte
Le Virtual Global Taskforce (groupe de travail virtuel international) a été créé officiellement en décembre 2003. Il s’agit d’une initiative multinationale de répression visant à identifier, à localiser et à sauver les victimes. Le VGT vise également à cibler et à lutter contre ceux qui tentent d’utiliser l’Internet pour abuser des enfants et les exploiter.

L’Internet, même s’il s’agit d’un outil très utile, devient une méthode utilisée par certaines personnes pour abuser des enfants et les exploiter. Tout le monde peut avoir accès à l’Internet et l’objectif du VGT est de le surveiller afin d’éviter qu’il ne devienne un lieu anonyme pour exploiter les enfants.

Pour « attraper » les contrevenants : opération PIN
La première étape de la stratégie du VGT en vue de réduire la criminalité consistait à créer un site Web, présenté sous le nom opération PIN. Le site est présenté comme une source d’images sexuelles d’enfants afin d’attirer d’éventuels prédateurs. Après avoir passé plusieurs niveaux, l’utilisateur se retrouve éventuellement relié à un site de police qui l’informe que ses données personnelles ont été enregistrées et qu’il peut avoir commis une infraction. Il apprend aussi que ses coordonnées peuvent être transmises au service de police compétent afin que des mesures soient prises. Il obtient également de l’information sur les ressources qui lui sont offertes afin d’obtenir de l’aide au besoin.

Nearly half of 9-19 year olds who use the internet have given out personal information to strangers they've met online.Marketing social
Le National Crime Squad of England and Wales a lancé une campagne de publicité dans le magazine de bord de la compagnie Easy-Jet en septembre 2004. On y voit le logo du VGT ainsi qu’un message indiquant que presque la moitié des jeunes internautes de 9 à 19 ans fournissent des renseignements personnels à des inconnus. (inclure le message en question)

D’autres partenaires envisagent également de lancer des campagnes similaires au sein de leurs marchés respectifs.

Site Web du VGT
Vous trouverez à l’adresse http://www.virtualglobaltaskorce.com des renseignements supplémentaires sur le VGT.

Partenaires du VGT :