Government of Canada
   
Français Contact Us Help Search Canada Site
Home Cybertip.ca SchoolNet deal.org VG Taskforce
   
 

National Child Exploitation Coordination Centre (NCECC) - Fact Sheets - Wireless Networking

Wireless Networking

Background

 

What is it?

A wireless network is one that uses radio signals rather than direct cable connections to exchange information.

How does it work?

  • Wireless networks are comprised of two main components: an access point (for example, a router broadcasting a signal) and a receiver (for example, a wireless card for a personal computer or laptop). An access point converts the wired Ethernet signals to radio frequencies. The receiver (most commonly a wireless card in a PC or laptop) is then used to communicate back and forth with the access point to interact with the rest of the network.
  • Wireless networking uses radio frequency signals to connect all the components of the network.
  • The most common type of wireless technology is called Wireless Fidelity (Wi-Fi). Technically Wi-Fi is used to describe a network operating within the bounds of the 802.11 standard.
  • A wireless network is referred to as a Service Set Identifier (SSID). The SSID is used to identify the network when many networks are in place.

A Closer Look

Wireless communication offers many benefits to its users such as portability and flexibility, increased productivity, and lower installation costs. However there are security issues associated with wireless technology, one of the most significant challenges is that access to your network is not limited to those with a physical connection. Anyone with a wireless card can see the traffic moving across your wireless network unless your network is secured with encryption technology. Many different peripherals can be connected to a wireless network:

  • Modem : A device that allows computers to transmit and receive data over cable or telephone lines.
  • Wireless Router : A wireless router performs three tasks simultaneously. First the wireless access point allows you to connect wireless B or G devices to the network. Second, it acts as a switch to connect your wired Ethernet devices to your network. Finally, the router feature ties it all together and lets your network share an Internet connection.
  • Wireless Media Adapter : This device connects your TV (if supported by the TV) to the wireless network which allows you to view digital photos and play music files from a computer. You can also get guide updates and use remote scheduling over a high-speed Internet connection.
  • Wireless Game Adapter : A wireless game adapter connects your gaming system to your wireless network.
  • Wireless Print Server : This device allows you to connect both Universal Serial Bus (USB) and parallel printers to your network.
  • Network Storage Link : The network storage link allows you to connect USB hard drives directly to your network. You can connect up to two stand-alone USB drives and access them from anywhere on your network. The network storage link is of particular concern to law enforcement as it provides the user with the capability to store material in a separate physical location from the computer. The device can be stored in an attic, the ceiling, or an off-site location provided the user has remote access. To illustrate further, it is possible for an individual to download child sexual abuse images to a network storage link located at his/her parent’s house. The offender can then view the illegal material knowing that the device on which the material is stored is not likely to be detected or found.
  • Wireless Internet Video Camera : This device allows for the sending of live video through the Internet to a Web browser anywhere in the world. While it is connected to your home network, the video can be viewed from any personal computer in its range. Although the streaming video is secure behind your firewall, opening the appropriate ports on the router make it easily accessible to the outside world.
  • Wireless Desktop PC Card (PCI) : This card is a wireless network adapter that is installed in a desktop in an available PCI slot, and is used to establish a network connection.
  • Wireless Laptop PC Card (PCMCIA) : This card is designed to slide into the PC card slot found in most notebook computers, and is used to establish a network connection.
  • Wireless USB Adapter : This is a hardware device that acts as a receiver of the radio frequencies; it plugs into a USB port on a computer and is used to establish a network connection.

Implications for Law Enforcement

Armed with a computer, a wireless network card, an antenna, and software that can be downloaded free of charge from the Internet, a hacker could potentially view the data on your computer and/or use your network to download and/or transmit child sexual abuse images. This process is referred to as wardriving and is used by hackers throughout the world to identify wireless networks that are not secure. As wireless networks operate by emitting radio waves up to distances of 100 yards, it is possible for someone to log onto an unsecured network within a matter of minutes as signals that pass through the air are easier to intercept than those that pass through cables. According to research performed by the WorldWide WarDrive, over 60% of approximately 228,537 access points found throughout the world were insecure (http://www.worldwidewardrive.org/side.html).

In addition to hacking into home networks, Wi-Fi access points, known as hotspots located in cafés, hotels, and airports, are also targeted by hackers as the security of these networks is often non-existent which allows material to be intercepted. A hotspot is a device that is hardwired into the Internet that provides access to roughly 100 computers at one time. With many computers sharing the same network connection, it is not difficult for an individual to identify computers that are not secure and use their Internet connection for illegal purposes.

Another danger associated with wireless networking is that if someone gains access to your system or even “piggybacks” off your Internet connection, you could be held liable for their actions as your Internet Protocol (IP) address would be identified while their IP address would be untraceable. Incidents of this nature have occurred in Canada resulting in various crimes ranging from accessing and distributing child pornography to telecommunications theft.

Securing a Wireless Network

There are several steps you can take to increase the security of your wireless network.

  • Ensure that all user accounts are password protected.
  • Disable identifier broadcasting to prevent hackers from discovering that you have a wireless network.
  • Use either Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) or Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) to encrypt your data thereby only allowing intended recipients to read it.
  • Personal firewall and anti-virus software should also be installed on your computer and should also be kept up to date as new viruses are constantly identified.

"A hacker can use an insecure wireless network to spy on you, steal files off your hard drive, plant files onto your hard drive, or even steal Internet access” (Posey 2005). Although no wireless network can be completely secure, it is important to take the necessary steps to secure your wireless network as it will reduce the probability that a hacker will compromise your machine as it would be easier for him/her to move on to a computer that has little or no security.

Terms

Hacker : A hacker is a person intensely interested in the mysterious workings of any computer operating system. Hackers are programmers who have advanced knowledge of operating systems and programming languages. They may know of holes within systems and the reasons for such holes. Hackers constantly seek further knowledge, freely share what they have discovered, and rarely intentionally damage data.

TCP : Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) enables two hosts to establish a connection and exchange streams of data. TCP guarantees delivery of data and also guarantees that packets will be delivered in the same order in which they were sent.

UDP : User Datagram Protocol (UDP) provides very few error recovery services, offering instead a direct way to send and receive datagrams over an IP network. It is used primarily for broadcasting messages over a network.

References

Bradley, Tony. (2005). Wireless Network Security for the Home. http://netsecurity.about.com/cs/wireless/a/aa112203_2.htm

Brain, Marshall . (2005). How WiFi Works. http://computer.howstuffworks.com/wireless-network.htm

Cunningham, Lisa. (2004). “Criminals Hijack Wireless Internet Connections.” The i-SAFE Times issue 21. http://www.isafe.org.

Dizikes, Peter. (2005). Wi-Fi Woes. http://www.consumerwebwatch.org/dynamic/privacy-investigation-wireless-networks.cfm

Griffith, Eric. (2004). The Five Deadly Dangers of Unsecured Wireless Networks. http://www.Lucid Link.com/media/pdf_autogen/the_five_deadly_dangers.pdf

Miller, Darren, W. (2005). Road Warrior at Risk: The Dangers of Ad-Hoc Wireless Networking. http://www.circleid.com/article/1077_0_1_0_C/

Posey, Brien. (2005). Wireless Network Security for the Home. http://www.windowsecurity.com/articles/Wireless-Network-Security-Home.html

Shim, Richard. (2003). Canadian Arrest Highlights the Dangers of Wi-Fi. http://insight.zdnet.co.uk/communications/wireless/o,39020430,39118205,00.htm

http://www.whtvcable.com/fasttrack/#what

http://cis.poly.edu/~ross/papers/UnderstandingKaZaA.pdf

http://worldwidewardrive.org/side.html

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/s/social_engineering.html

Dumpster Diving

http://www.allthingsfrugal.com/dumpster.htm

-http://www.kuro5hin.org/story/2003/1/29/215523/088

Hackers vs Crackers

http://www.textfiles.com/uploads/cracker.txt

Social Engineering

http://www.securityfocus.com/infocus/1527

TCP & UDP

www.webopedia.com

Produced by:
The National Child Exploitation Coordination Centre
Strategic and Operations Support Services
Research and Development Section

Gouvernement du Canada Gouvernement du Canada
   
English Contactez-nous Aide Recherche Site du Canada
Accueil Cyberaide.ca Rescol choix.org VG Taskforce
   
 

Centre national de coordination contre l'exploitation des enfants (CNCEE) - Fiches documentaires - Réseautage sans fil

Réseautage sans fil

Contexte

 

De quoi s’agit-il?

Un réseau sans fil est un réseau qui a recours à des signaux radio plutôt qu’à des câbles pour établir des connexions d’échange de données.

Comment fonctionne-t-il?

  • Un réseau sans fil est constitué de deux éléments principaux : un point d’accès (par exemple, un routeur qui diffuse un signal) et un récepteur (par exemple, une carte sans fil pour un ordinateur personnel ou un ordinateur portatif). Un point d’accès convertit les signaux Ethernet câblés en radiofréquences. Le récepteur (qui est la plupart du temps une carte sans fil dans un ordinateur personnel ou portatif) est ensuite utilisé pour communiquer avec le point d’accès afin d’interagir avec le reste du réseau.
  • Le réseautage sans fil a recours à des signaux radio afin de relier tous les éléments d’un réseau.
  • Le type le plus courant de technologie sans fil est appelé Wi-Fi (Wireless Fidelity). Techniquement, le Wi-Fi est utilisé pour décrire un réseau qui fonctionne selon la norme 802.11.
  • Un réseau sans fil possède un SSID (Service Set Identifier). Le SSID sert à identifier le réseau parmi plusieurs autres réseaux, le cas échéant.

Vue détaillée

La communication sans fil offre de nombreux avantages à ses utilisateurs, par exemple la portabilité, la polyvalence, l’augmentation de la productivité et la réduction des coûts d’installation. Cependant, des problèmes de sécurité sont associés à la technologie sans fil, particulièrement en matière d’accès, qui ne se limite pas aux connexions physiques. Toute personne qui possède une carte sans fil peut voir les données transmises dans votre réseau sans fil, à moins que ce dernier soit protégé à l’aide de chiffrement. De nombreux périphériques peuvent être branchés sur un réseau sans fil:

  • Modem : Dispositif qui permet aux ordinateurs de transmettre et de recevoir des données par câble ou ligne téléphonique.
  • Routeur sans fil : Un routeur sans fil effectue simultanément trois tâches - le point d’accès vous permet de connecter des dispositifs sans fil B ou G au réseau ; il sert de commutateur pour connecter vos dispositifs Ethernet câblés à votre réseau ; le routeur relie tous les éléments ensemble et permet à votre réseau de partager une connexion à Internet.
  • Adaptateur de réseautage média sans fil : Ce dispositif permet de connecter un téléviseur compatible à un réseau sans fil, de regarder des photos numériques et de faire jouer des fichiers de musique depuis un ordinateur. Vous pouvez également obtenir des mises à jour de téléhoraire et programmer à distance un horaire par le biais d’une connexion Internet haute vitesse.
  • Adaptateur de jeu sans fil : Ce dispositif relie votre système de jeu à votre réseau sans fil. Les systèmes de jeu compatibles avec les adaptateurs de jeu sans fil incluent le PlayStation 2 et le Xbox.
  • Serveur d’impression sans fil : Ce dispositif vous permet de connecter les imprimantes à port USB (Universal Serial Bus) ou à port parallèle à votre réseau.
  • Dispositif d’enregistrement réseau : Ce dispositif vous permet de relier des disques durs à port USB directement à votre réseau. Vous pouvez relier jusqu’à deux disques durs autonomes et y avoir accès depuis n’importe quel point dans votre réseau. Ce dispositif intéresse particulièrement les organismes d’application de la loi, car il permet à l’utilisateur d’enregistrer des données dans un autre endroit que l’ordinateur. Le dispositif peut être dissimulé dans un grenier, un plafond ou un lieu extérieur, pourvu que l’utilisateur y a accès à distance. De plus, il est possible qu’un individu télécharge des images de pédophilie à un dispositif d’enregistrement réseau situé dans la maison de ses parents. L’individu peut ensuite regarder les images illégales sachant que le dispositif dans lequel elles sont enregistrées ne sera probablement jamais découvert.
  • Caméra vidéo Internet sans fil : Ce dispositif permet la transmission d’un signal vidéo dans Internet jusqu’à un fureteur Web depuis n’importe où dans le monde. Bien qu’il soit connecté à votre réseau, le signal vidéo peut être capté depuis n’importe quel ordinateur personnel à portée de transmission. Même si le signal vidéo est protégé par un pare-feu, l’ouverture de ports appropriés dans le routeur peut le rendre facilement accessible au monde extérieur.
  • Carte de réseau PC sans fil (PCI) : Cette carte est un adaptateur de réseau sans fil installé dans une fente PCI d’un ordinateur de bureau qui sert à établir une connexion réseau.
  • Carte de réseau sans fil pour ordinateur portatif (PCMCIA) : Cette carte est conçue pour être insérée dans la fente PCI dont sont munis la plupart des ordinateurs portatifs, et sert à établir une connexion réseau.
  • Adaptateur USB sans fil : Il s’agit d’un dispositif matériel qui sert de récepteur de radiofréquences; on le branche dans le port USB d’un ordinateur afin d’établir une connexion réseau.

Questions d’applications de la loi

Armé d’un ordinateur, d’une carte réseau sans fil, d’une antenne et d’un logiciel qui peut être téléchargé gratuitement dans Internet, un pirate de l’informatique pourrait accéder aux données enregistrées dans votre ordinateur ou se servir de votre réseau pour télécharger ou transmettre des images de pédophilie. Un processus appelé « wardriving » est utilisé par des pirates de l’informatique dans le monde entier pour identifier des réseaux sans fil non protégés. Étant donné que les réseaux sans fil fonctionnent en émettant des radiofréquences à une distance pouvant aller jusqu’à 100 verges, il est possible qu’une personne accède à un réseau sans protection en quelques minutes, car les signaux transmis sans fil sont plus faciles à intercepter que les signaux transmis par câble. Selon des recherches menées par WorldWide WarDrive, plus de 60 % des quelque 228 537 points d’accès découverts dans le monde n’étaient pas protégés ( http://www.worldwidewardrive.org/side.html ).

En plus de l’accès illégal à des réseaux personnels, des points d’accès Wi-Fi appelés « hotspots » qui se trouvent dans des cafés, des hôtels et des aéroports sont également ciblés par des pirates, car la sécurité de ces réseaux est souvent absente, ce qui permet à leurs signaux d’être interceptés. Un hotspot est un dispositif câblé dans Internet qui offre un accès à environ 100 ordinateurs à la fois. Étant donné que de nombreux ordinateurs partagent la même connexion, il n’est pas difficile pour un individu d’identifier ceux qui ne sont pas protégés et d’utiliser leur connexion à des fins illégales.

Un autre risque associé au réseautage sans fil est que si un individu accède illégalement à votre système et utilise votre connexion Internet, vous pourriez être tenu responsable de ses actions, car votre adresse Internet (IP) serait identifiée, alors que la sienne serait impossible à dépister. Des incidents de ce type ont eu lieu au Canada, et ont entraîné divers crimes comme le téléchargement et la distribution de pornographie juvénile et le vol de télécommunications.

Comment protéger un réseau sans fil

Vous pouvez prendre plusieurs moyens pour augmenter la sécurité d’un réseau sans fil.

  • Assurez-vous que tous les comptes d’utilisateur sont protégés à l’aide d’un mot de passe.
  • Désactivez la diffusion d’identificateur afin d’empêcher les pirates de découvrir votre réseau sans fil.
  • Utilisez le logiciel Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP) ou Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) pour chiffrer vos données et ne permettre qu’aux personnes autorisées de les lire.
  • Installez un pare-feu et un logiciel antivirus dans votre ordinateur et tenez-les à jour, car de nouveaux virus sont constamment identifiés.

« Un pirate peut utiliser un réseau sans fil non protégé pour vous espionner, voler des fichiers enregistrés dans votre disque dur ou même utiliser votre accès Internet sans votre consentement » (Posey 2005). Bien qu’il soit impossible de protéger un réseau sans fil à 100%, il est important de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour protéger votre réseau sans fil afin de réduire le risque qu’un pirate compromette votre système, car il lui serait plus facile de cibler un autre ordinateur moins protégé.

Termes

Pirate : Un pirate est une personne qui a un grand intérêt envers le fonctionnement de tous les systèmes d’exploitation informatiques. Les pirates sont des programmeurs qui ont des connaissances avancées sur les systèmes d’exploitation et les langages de programmation. Ils peuvent connaître les faiblesses des systèmes et les raisons pour lesquelles elles existent. Les pirates cherchent toujours à perfectionner leurs connaissances, partagent librement ce qu’ils découvrent et endommagent rarement à dessein les données.

TCP : Le protocole TCP (Transmission Control Protocol) permet à deux hôtes d’établir une connexion et d’échanger des trains de données. Le protocole TCP garantit la transmission de paquets de données et leur réception dans un ordre identique à celui dans lequel ils ont été envoyés.

UDP : Le protocole UDP (User Datagram Protocol) offre peu de services de reprise sur incident, mais offre plutôt un moyen direct de transmission et de réception de datagrammes dans un réseau IP. Il est utilisé principalement pour la diffusion de message dans un réseau.

Références

Bradley, Tony. (2005). Wireless Network Security for the Home. http://netsecurity.about.com/cs/wireless/a/aa112203_2.htm

Brain, Marshall . (2005). How WiFi Works. http://computer.howstuffworks.com/wireless-network.htm

Cunningham, Lisa. (2004). “Criminals Hijack Wireless Internet Connections.” The i-SAFE Times issue 21. http://www.isafe.org.

Dizikes, Peter. (2005). Wi-Fi Woes. http://www.consumerwebwatch.org/dynamic/privacy-investigation-wireless-networks.cfm

Griffith, Eric. (2004). The Five Deadly Dangers of Unsecured Wireless Networks. http://www.Lucid Link.com/media/pdf_autogen/the_five_deadly_dangers.pdf

Miller, Darren, W. (2005). Road Warrior at Risk: The Dangers of Ad-Hoc Wireless Networking. http://www.circleid.com/article/1077_0_1_0_C/

Posey, Brien. (2005). Wireless Network Security for the Home. http://www.windowsecurity.com/articles/Wireless-Network-Security-Home.html

Shim, Richard. (2003). Canadian Arrest Highlights the Dangers of Wi-Fi. http://insight.zdnet.co.uk/communications/wireless/o,39020430,39118205,00.htm

http://www.whtvcable.com/fasttrack/#what

http://cis.poly.edu/~ross/papers/UnderstandingKaZaA.pdf

http://worldwidewardrive.org/side.html

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/s/social_engineering.html

Fouille de poubelles

http://www.allthingsfrugal.com/dumpster.htm

-http://www.kuro5hin.org/story/2003/1/29/215523/088

Différence entre les pirates et les perceurs de code

http://www.textfiles.com/uploads/cracker.txt

Ingénierie sociale

http://www.securityfocus.com/infocus/1527

Protocoles TCP et UDP

www.webopedia.com

Produit par :
Le Centre national de coordination contre l'exploitation des enfants
Services stratégiques et soutien opérationnel
Recherche et Développement